Prerequisites
Understanding Read Receipts
Read Receipts let you control whether others can see when you have read their messages, and also let you see when they have seen your messages.
When Read Receipts are enabled:
Sent messages display a single tick when delivered.
Messages show a double blue tick when seen.
A read time is shown after the recipient opens the message.
When Read Receipts are disabled:
This setting works both ways and applies to personal and group chats.
How to Manage Read Receipts
Android
- Tap the
more menu on the Chats screen. - Go to Settings.
- Tap Security and privacy.
- Find the Read receipts toggle.
- Turn the toggle On to enable or Off to disable.
iOS
- Go to Settings.
- Tap Security and Privacy.
- Find the Read receipts toggle.
- Turn the toggle On to enable or Off to disable.
Web
Click the
more menu on the Chats screen. Go to Settings.
Click Security and privacy.
Find the Read receipts toggle.
Turn the toggle On to enable or Off to disable.
How to View the Message Read Info
Android
Open the message you've sent.
Tap and hold the message and tap View info.
Alternatively, tap the Read Receipt tick to view the read information.
iOS
Open the message you've sent.
Tap and hold the message, tap Message info.
Alternatively, swipe the message to the left to view the read information.
FAQs
1. Does turning off Read Receipts affect both sides?
Yes. When Read Receipts are turned off, neither you nor the other person can see that the message has been read.
2. Will this affect message delivery?
No. Messages will still be sent and delivered normally.
3. Does this setting apply to group chats?
Yes. Read Receipts apply to both personal and group chats.
4. How does Read Receipts work in Channels?
Read Receipts have no effect in channels. They will display a single tick when sent and display a view count.